Why was King’s goal against Chelsea disallowed?

Why was King’s goal against Chelsea disallowed?

  • 249 Comments
Josh King, a smart finish against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Saturday, gave him the impression that he had scored the first Premier League goal of his career.

The 18-year-old England Under-19s midfielder celebrated after receiving the goal on-field, but it was later dismissed as offside as a result of a video assistant referee’s (VAR) intervention.

Three passes later, King was in behind the Chelsea defense, and Fulham won the ball just outside their own box.

In the 22nd minute, King rushed into the box and shifted the ball to King’s right to stop Blues center Tosin Adarabioyo from play before firing a low past goalkeeper Robert Sanchez.

However, Robert Jones was given the task of looking for a foul on the pitchside monitor before the goal.

Trevoh Chalobah was deemed fouled by Rodrigo Muniz as he attempted to turn the Chelsea defender near the halfway point.

King’s goal was declared out for a “careless challenge,” the referee told the audience.

The Fulham number nine makes a careless challenge after being reviewed and stands on the foot of a Chelsea defender. We decide to stop the goal and kick off with a free kick from Chelsea. The Premier League match center on X was quoted as saying, “There would be no further action.”

A “careless challenge” is defined as one that “acts without precaution or lacks consideration when making a challenge” according to the Premier League rulebook.

Not everyone, however, agreed to rule out the objective.

Former Aston Villa and Derby County defender Curtis Davies stated on BBC Radio 5 Live, “The whole point of VAR is clear and obvious,” adding that “we’ve probably said this a thousand times and I’m getting bored of saying it.”

“We’re watching a young man run away and score a goal, but it’s just being pulled back.”

You’re going to look for a needle in a haystack with every choice, they say, “It’s really ridiculous.”

It’s the worst decision I’ve seen this season, said Match of the Day pundit Danny Murphy. It completely disregards the game’s fundamental principles.

Muniz tries to do a wonderful bit of skill, but he accidentally catches Chalobah as he tries to balance himself. The goal was denied because VAR claimed it was a careless challenge, but it is a pirouette in the middle of the pitch.

It’s “absolutely awful officiating.” It’s one thing to have the referee come and look at it, but it’s odd for Rob Jones to ignore that it’s a tackle. I don’t believe anyone who understands the game, regardless of whether you’ve played it or not, can substitute that for a free kick.

Getty Images

Ask Me Anything: What Is It?

A service called Ask Me Anything is dedicated to responding to your inquiries.

We want to reward your time by educating you on topics you may not otherwise understand.

The team will be able to connect you with a network of contacts, including our experts and experts, to provide you with all the information you require.

We’ll respond to your inquiries right in the BBC Sport newsroom and visit some of the world’s biggest sporting events from the backstage.

More inquiries answered…

Contact us.

related subjects

  • Premier League

Source: BBC

234Radio

234Radio is Africa's Premium Internet Radio that seeks to export Africa to the rest of the world.