President Buhari extends tenure of chief of defence staff, others | 234Radio

President Buhari extends tenure of chief of defence staff, others

Gen. Abayomi Olonisakin, Chief of Defence Staff

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the extension of the tenure of the Chief of Defence Staff, Gen. Abayomi Olonisakin, and the three Service Chiefs.

The Minister of Defence, Mansur Dan-Ali, announced the approval in a statement issued by the Spokesman of the ministry, Col. Tukur Gusau, in Abuja on Monday.

The service chiefs are: Chief of Army Staff, Lt.-Gen Tukur Buratai; Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar and the Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ete-Ibas.

The extension, according to the minister, followed a careful review of the ongoing military operations across the nation.

READ: First Northern female Commodore decorated

Specifically, Dan-Ali said the president took into consideration the efforts of the officers in the counter-insurgency operations in the North-East and the security situation in the Niger Delta region.

He explained that the extension was pursuant to the powers conferred on the President by section 218 (1) and (2) of the 1999 Constitution and section 09.06 of the revised Harmonised Terms and Conditions of Service for Officers (2012).

The minister congratulated the defence and military chiefs for earning the confidence of the President and the county’s citizens.

Source: PM News

Share : facebooktwitter

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: